You are here


A Brief History Of The ESV Conference.

The United States Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA),Office of Vehicle Safety is the official Government agency responsible for the implementation of the International Technical Conference on the Enhanced Safety of Vehicles (ESV) held every two years at a venue agreed upon by the participating Government Focal Points (GFP).

The Conference is hosted by an ESV member country selected in advance by the GFPs representing the participating Governments’ transportation organizations. ESV attendees include members of governments, automobile manufacturers and their suppliers, safety researchers and other motor vehicle safety professionals, medical, insurance, legal and policy professionals, consumers, academia, students and international media.


The ESV Program originated in 1970 under the NATO Committee on the Challenges of Modern Society, and was implemented through bilateral agreements between the Governments of the United States, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom, Japan, and Sweden. The participating nations agreed to develop experimental safety vehicles to advance the state-of-the-art technology in automotive engineering and to meet periodically to exchange information on their progress. Since its inception the number of international partners has grown to include the Governments of Canada, Australia, the Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, the Republic of Korea, and two international organizations - the European Commission, and the European Enhanced Vehicle-Safety Committee.

More historical information and proceedings from all previous ESV conferences are available on the NHTSA website.

To the top